Field Hockey Canada > Field Hockey Canada Conference 2020

The Field Hockey Canada Conference is a four-day online event taking place from Tuesday, December 1, 2020 to Friday, December 4, 2020. With the goal to engage, entertain and educate the sports community during unprecedented times, the inaugural event will build around the developmental, administrative and high-performance sides of sport. Featuring various experts and speakers from diverse professional backgrounds, the Field Hockey Canada Conference will encapsulate all aspects of the sport as everybody builds toward a new definition of what it means to be a part of a team.

>>> REGISTER NOW <<<

 


EVENT PROGRAMMING
SPEAKER BIOS

2020 CONFERENCE SESSIONS

  • Coaching Championship Programs
  • Racism in Sports and Effective Allyship
  • Mental Wellness in High-Performance Settings
  • Life After the Field: Finding Balance and Facilitating Transition
  • Gender Equity in Sport: Where Do We Start and Where Do We Go?
  • Growing at the Grassroots

DAYS AT A GLANCE

DAY ONE: WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 2
DAY TWO: THURSDAY, DECEMBER 3
DAY THREE: FRIDAY, DECEMBER 4

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 1

Conference Welcome Address

Tune in live and watch a conference welcome video. Staff and renowned community members will welcome registrants to the conference and share some positive and hopeful messaging.

Video | Premiere 430pm PT / 730pm ET

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 2

Coaching Championship Programs

Workshop | 11am PT / 2pm ET

How to grow and nurture championship environments as teams build toward their own definitions of success. Keys of effective coaching & athlete development and success retention.

Racism in Sports and Effective Allyship

Panel hosted by Field Hockey Canada, featuring: (TBD) | 4pm PT / 7pm ET

How to prevent and identify racism and discrimination experienced by many BIPOC members. Effective ways that coaches, teammates, parents and others can be allies in these situations to make the sport more accessible and inclusive.

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 3

Mental Wellness in High-Performance Settings

Workshop (followed by Q&A) | 12pm PT / 3pm ET

How to better prepare athletes mentally for high performance training and competition and how to respond in moments of high stress. Burnout prevention and recovery.

Life After the Field: Finding Balance and Facilitating Transition

Panel hosted by Field Hockey Canada, featuring: (TBD) | 4:30pm PT / 7:30pm ET

How to transition from being a high-performance community member to a related job and role. Putting your experience and soft skills to good use and exploring other related (and unrelated) avenues.

FRIDAY, DECEMBER 4

Gender Equity in Sport: Where Do We Start and Where Do We Go?

Workshop | 10am PT / 1pm ET

How to make the sport system more equitable through empowering girls and women, who are underrepresented and underserved in Canadian sport as athletes, leaders, and decision-makers.

Growing at the Grassroots

Workshop | 12:30pm PT / 3:30pm ET

How to start and lead junior and youth programs. An examination of coaching goals, connection with the community and the value of community coaching.

 

Is it free or is there a registration fee?
Registration is free. Projects like this do, however, require significant administrative and volunteer effort. There’s an option at the end of registration form if you’d like to donate to FHC. All proceeds go towards developing field hockey in Canada.

Do I have to register for every session?
No, when you click register you can select the sessions you’d like to sign up for. You will be sent Zoom links to join the sessions on the day of. Confirmation emails will be sent leading up to the conference. Note: if you aren’t sure of your attendance, it’s better to sign up than not.

What should I do if I have registered but I want to edit my registration details?
If you have the  desire to change your registration details (say you didn’t sign up for a session originally, and now you’d like to), you have two options: you can a) complete a brand new registration form entry or b) email the contacts below and request your name be added to a specific session.

Will the sessions be recorded and archived?
Yes, the sessions will be recorded. Although we highly recommend you tune in live to get the best experience, we understand people’s availability fluctuates. Sessions will be made available to registrants after the conference is finished and will likely be made available to the general community at a later date. Make sure you register to get up to date information and archives.

Grace Li
Marketing and Communications Coordinator
graceli@fieldhockey.ca

Kevin Underhill
Communications Manager
kunderhill@fieldhockey.ca

Hailey Yhap
Membership Engagement Coordinator
events@fieldhockey.ca