Field Hockey Canada > Hall of Fame Celebration Month

Hall of Fame Celebration Month

July 31, 2020 | Field Hockey Canada |

Field Hockey Canada Celebrates 2019 Inductee Class throughout August

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the regulations around gatherings, Field Hockey Canada postponed the 2019 Hall of Fame induction ceremony indefinitely. Any in-person ceremony is unlikely until FHC can ensure everyone’s safety (likely not until 2021). In lieu of a formal in-person celebration, FHC is electing to digitally celebrate the 2019 class throughout the month of August. 

Staggered throughout the month, FHC will release articles, photos and videos of each inductee. A celebration schedule is listed below. In 2019, a formal Hall of Fame Committee was assembled to review and refine the nomination and induction process. Field Hockey Canada is proud to announce the outstanding class of 2019 Hall of Fame inductees. 

In the Athlete category, Shelley Andrews of Victoria, Alan Hobkirk of Vancouver, and Reg Plummer of Ottawa will be inducted. In the Officials category, Alan Waterman of Vancouver will be inducted. In the Builder category, Dorothy (Dot) Asuma of Sunshine Coast, Denys Cooper of Ottawa, Jenny John of Kamloops and Dr. Jack Taunton of Vancouver will all be inducted. The 1983 Canadian Women’s National Team will be inducted into the Hall as the highest ranking of any Canadian field hockey team to this day.

Hall of Fame Celebration Month
August 10 – Dot Asuma
August 12 – Jenny John
August 14 – Dr. Jack Taunton
August 17 – Shelley Winter Andrews
August 19 – Alan Hobkirk
August 21 – Alan Waterman
August 24 – Reg Plummer
August 27 – Denys Cooper
August 31 – 1983 Women’s National Team 

Class of 2019 – Announcement
Field Hockey Canada Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame Nomination Criteria

Contact Information
Kevin Underhill – Communications Manager

The Field Hockey Canada Hall of Fame is supported by Gryphon Hockey