Field Hockey Canada > Men's National Program names 2017 Junior Development Squad

Men’s National Program names 2017 Junior Development Squad

PHOTO: Canada vs South Africa at the 2016 Junior World Cup in India. By Yan Huckendubler.

February 7, 2017 | Shaheed Devji |

Canada’s men’s field hockey program has named an 87-player Junior Development Squad for the upcoming year as the junior men begin the journey to the 2020 Junior World Cup.

The athletes who make up the squad come from four provinces: British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, and Quebec. The roster includes eight athletes who represented Canada at the recent Junior World Cup in Lucknow, India. That list includes the likes of Jamie Wallace and Thomson Harris, who have also been named to the 2017 Senior Development Squad.

The squad has been selected after the completion of the Under-16 National Championships this past summer, and with input from both National and Provincial coaches.

“We’re working closer with our provincial partners to help grow the competitive depth of the program,” says Paul Bundy, who in addition to serving as the Assistant Coach of the Senior Men’s National Team, heads up the Junior National Program. “We’re sending a National Coach out to all the provincial trials to work with the coaches from the four respective provinces that contain our JDS athletes.”

The provincial alignment is part of a four-year strategy to grow the competitive depth within the country as Canada begins a new quadrennial leading up to the 2020 Junior World Cup.

There are plans to introduce Under-18 and Under-23 National Championships in Toronto this July, as well as for Canada’s juniors to host international matches following the conclusion of National Championships. More information with regards to these event will come at a later date.

2017 Junior Development Squad (Men)

Alex Darling Quebec
Alexander BirdQuebec
Amninder AtwalOntario
Amraaz Dhillon British Columbia
Amritjot ToorOntario
Arjun HothiBritish Columbia
Arshjot ToorOntario
Avi DhaliwalAlberta
Brendan GuraliukBritish Columbia
Brien MurphyAlberta
Casey BrennanQuebec
Chris TardifQuebec
Christophe De HaasBritish Columbia
Clovis VandermeirschBritish Columbia
Connor RutledgeBritish Columbia
Damandip MaangatBritish Columbia
Daniel NahirQuebec
Dario VazBritish Columbia
Dildeep SeehraAlberta
Dilpreet Cheema Ontario
Dwayne Rodricks Ontario
Ethan MctavishBritish Columbia
Fin BoothroydBritish Columbia
Flynn MccullochQuebec
Ganga Singh (Jr)Ontario
Gaurav AgnihotriBritish Columbia
Gavin BainsBritish Columbia
Gurvansh MannBritish Columbia
Harbir KambojOntario
Harpreet Benipal British Columbia
Harsimran DhuggaOntario
Harsohail Parmar Alberta
Harvir MalhiBritish Columbia
Isaac FarionQuebec
Jackson SyrrosQuebec
Jagpreet SinghOntario
Jamie WallaceBritish Columbia
Jarod TimminsBritish Columbia
Jasmeet BringBritish Columbia
Jasmeet GillOntario
Jason DhaliwalBritish Columbia
Jay DhaliwalAlberta
Jeevan JammuOntario
Jesse CarvalhoOntario
Joshua KuempelOntario
Julius D'SouzaOntario
Kevin Watson Alberta
Kyle BishopBritish Columbia
Lyle FernandesOntario
Mankirat RaiOntario
Manveer JhamatBritish Columbia
Manwinder KaileyBritish Columbia
Marek Chopra Ontario
Michael BrownBritish Columbia
Michael MackenzieBritish Columbia
Muhammad Hamza SohailAlberta
Naman SharmaBritish Columbia
Nicolas SyrrosQuebec
Nityanand RewankarOntario
Noah LoomisQuebec
Pascal Brisson Ontario
Rajan KahlonBritish Columbia
Rajan SinghOntario
Ranbir KalkatOntario
Robbie BleichQuebec
Robinpreet VirkAlberta
Roopkanwar DhillonBritish Columbia
Rowan Childs British Columbia
Sahib SuriBritish Columbia
Sam CabralBritish Columbia
Sam SeaberryBritish Columbia
Satbir BrarBritish Columbia
Shahzad ShazabAlberta
Sukhman BajwaBritish Columbia
Sumeetpal DhaliwalBritish Columbia
Tajveer BislaBritish Columbia
Tanveer KullarAlberta
Tanvir KangAlberta
Tarjan SandhuBritish Columbia
Tarnpreet GillOntario
Thomson HarrisBritish Columbia
Trevor Lee Barrett-LennardBritish Columbia
Tristan PhilippeOntario
Vincent De WaalAlberta
Yuvraj BrarBritish Columbia
Zachary CoombsQuebec
Zaiq RanaBritish Columbia